Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Game Shows and Probability  (Read 2185 times)

mcsittel

Game Shows and Probability
« on: August 23, 2006, 08:24:42 PM »
Aside from my day job as a meteorologist/computer programmer, I teach statistics at a community college.  Each semester I've wanted to integrate some game shows into our discussion of probability, but haven't had the technology available to show DVDs or videos in the classroom until now.

What would you suggest as the best example(s) of probability in game shows?  I have some ideas but I'd like to hear from other fans as to what you think.  Everything from simple examples to more challenging ones are welcome.  I know we have some fellow teachers out there who I'm sure can help me out with what did/didn't work in the classroom, as well as students who had teachers who used game shows in the curriculum.

Thanks,
Matt

TimK2003

« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2006, 08:41:14 PM »
[quote name=\'mcsittel\' post=\'128759\' date=\'Aug 23 2006, 07:24 PM\']

What would you suggest as the best example(s) of probability in game shows?  I have some ideas but I'd like to hear from other fans as to what you think.  Everything from simple examples to more challenging ones are welcome.  I know we have some fellow teachers out there who I'm sure can help me out with what did/didn't work in the classroom, as well as students who had teachers who used game shows in the curriculum.

[/quote]

"Card Sharks" would be a great game show to use in classes.  Everyone can easily get their own sets of 'study materials' (Decks of Cards).  Showing one card can give you endless probabilities that the next card could be:

•  Higher, Lower, or Push
•  Red or Black
•  Hearts/Diamonds/Spades/Clubs
•  Face Card
•  Etc...  

Teach 'em well and by the end of the semester you'll have the brightest group of up and coming professional card counters!

MikeK

• Martha!
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2006, 08:42:40 PM »