Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Trading ettiquette, etc.  (Read 3577 times)

tvmitch

Trading ettiquette, etc.
« on: May 08, 2007, 08:38:22 AM »
Wanted to open up a discussion regarding an experience I've just had in the trading world...excuse the long and rambling post, but I just want to make sure that my thoughts aren't completely out of whack.

I've been in the trading circuit for an awful long time, I believe just under 11 years. I started trading when the dark period was in its darkest (and am kicking myself for not getting more of that stuff on tape!). 99% of my trades who peruse this board (and those who don't) have gone smoothly for both parties, through all sorts of life events. And I enjoy keeping in contact with everyone as well - some great friendships here and across the waters have sprouted from throwing tapes in a mailer.

So. That brings us to the present day. Trading isn't as much a part of my life as it used to be, but I still enjoy striking up a trade every few weeks or so, and I also enjoy reaching out to new traders to help build their collections. I received an email from a guy who's been trading for at least a year. His collection is very interesting - lots of episodes of shows I only have one episode of, and so on - and I agree to strike up a trade by sending a list, which is quite an exhaustive list - about 15 hours or so.

On his rules page, he has many "rules," one of them being the seemingly arbitrary "I don't trade for more than 12 hours at any one time."