Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: "Million Dollar Password" - An 'Essay'  (Read 3006 times)

chad1m

"Million Dollar Password" - An 'Essay'
« on: December 22, 2008, 12:04:50 AM »
Okay, so here it is. Please let me know what you think afterward!

---

Let me start off by saying never in a million years did I even think about trying out. I was planning on trying out for Who Wants to Be a Millionaire when they came to Detroit in mid-August. But by some form of serendipity, I was able to take part in the most curious and best four weeks of my life.

I'm a big fan of Million Dollar Password, so I designed my own PowerPoint version of the show, where one could control and host the game in his own home with his own words. I posted that here on the Game Show Forum so other fans could download it and play at home. About a week after posting that, I got this email, on Tuesday, July 15:

"Hi Chad,
My name is Jill Scott and I'm a Contestant Producer for "Million Dollar Password." My senior producers asked me to contact you. They saw your Power Point version of MDP and were very impressed. We would like to personally invite you to the audition. We are holding an audition in Chicago on Saturday (July 19th)... If you have any questions, please feel free to email me at yaddayaddayadda@gmail.com. Or you can call me directly at ###-###-####. Please do not publish that number. I hope to hear from you."

Kind of cool, I thought. So, I was able to get my aunts to go with me, and we stayed in a hotel, awaiting the audition. I got at the hotel at 8:20, 40 minutes before the advertised start time of 9. I got in line and was assigned a number, 0032.