Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Scoreboard Question  (Read 4150 times)

trivia202003

Scoreboard Question
« on: February 14, 2005, 01:53:55 PM »
Do game shows make their own scoreboards?

BrandonFG

Scoreboard Question
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2005, 02:16:39 PM »
[quote name=\'trivia202003\' date=\'Feb 14 2005, 01:53 PM\']Do game shows make their own scoreboards?
[snapback]75054[/snapback]
[/quote]

I'm no expert on this, but there is a company that provides the scoreboards you're talking about. The website comes up from time to time, but I suggest doing a groups.google search from ATGS. The topic has come up a couple of times, just like the game show buzzer questions.

Come to think of it, there's an architectural encyclopedia known as Sweet's books. They provide info just about every detail you can think of, including, types of tote readouts. Not quite the game show tote you're speaking of, but it's a start.
"They're both Norman Jewison movies, Troy, but we did think of one Jew more famous than Tevye."

Now celebrating his 22nd season on GSF!

tvrandywest

Scoreboard Question
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2005, 04:10:29 PM »
[quote name=\'trivia202003\' date=\'Feb 14 2005, 10:53 AM\']Do game shows make their own scoreboards?
[snapback]75054[/snapback]
[/quote]
You already know, because I answered your e-mail saying:
>>Virtually all of the game electronics for TV game shows in Los Angeles... the readouts, the custom programs, and the operators to run them... come from two sources: CBS Electronics and Vista Electronics. Both were started by folks who created all the stuff for the CBS game shows of the 1980s. They build some parts and buy others, like the lockout buttons discussed in another similar thread, from outside suppliers.<<

Randy
tvrandywest.com
The story behind the voice you know and love... the voice of a generation of game shows: Johnny Olson!