Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: PAL conversions  (Read 3435 times)

gwarman2005

PAL conversions
« on: August 28, 2005, 09:22:23 AM »
Hey guys, I just started trading with a guy in England and all he could do is send me tapes in PAL format.  After finding out that my VCR isn't multi-region I have two options... 1) Pay a company here $20+ to convert a two hour tape or 2) Convert the tape myself.  I've been looking on eBay and found this:

http://cgi.ebay.com/TV-AV-Video-System-PAL...1QQcmdZViewItem

I e-mailed the guy about it and haven't gotten a response.  It looks like all I need it two VCRs with aux cables to plug everything together.  Would it be that easy or am I missing something?  I figured you guys would know.  And if you try to explain something to me, please try to Barneyfy it so I'll understand, lol.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Matt Ottinger

PAL conversions
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2005, 10:17:28 AM »
[quote name=\'gwarman2005\' date=\'Aug 28 2005, 09:22 AM\'] It looks like all I need it two VCRs with aux cables to plug everything together.  Would it be that easy or am I missing something?  I figured you guys would know.  And if you try to explain something to me, please try to Barneyfy it so I'll understand, lol.[/quote]
Unfortunately, it's not that easy.  If you try to play a PAL tape in an NTSC VCR, you're not really sending a PAL signal, and your converter isn't going to recognize it as a PAL signal.  The VCR you use to play the tape has to already be able to play PAL tapes.  The converter only does the job of turning the outputed signal into NTSC so that you can play it on an NTSC television.

So what you need is BOTH a VCR that can play PAL tapes AND a converter like the one you saw.  Here are some examples:

http://www.world-import.com/converter-vcr.htm
This has been another installment of Matt Ottinger's Masters of the Obvious.
Stay tuned for all the obsessive-compulsive fun of Words Have Meanings.

tvmitch