The Game Show Forum
The Game Show Forum => The Big Board => Topic started by: PYLdude on August 19, 2006, 01:21:37 AM
-
I'm asking this of you guys because I don't remember seeing it before, so I don't know how this would be conducted.
Say, f'rinstance, there are two categories left on the Pyramid board (the $25000/$100000 version, not Donnymid), and one team has to get a certain amount of answers right to stay in the game and take it to a final category. Also, say that one of the categories is either the 7-11 or Mystery 7, and this particular team does not pick it. Then, say that they crap out and don't catch up.
Now, in that case, I wanna know which rules apply: do they let the other team play for the $1100 or the mystery prize, like they would if they picked the category last and only needed X amount of points to win, or do they go right to the Winner's Circle as procedure would normally dictate?
I know the answer is probably obvious, but you can never be too sure- you think things are one way, and they turn out to be a whole different one entirely.
-
The opportunity to win the bonus is always given, even if the game has been decided. In the case above, Dick would likely mention that he's going to the Winner's Circle* no matter what, and that he's playing the round for the bonus prize.
*There's a reason I didn't abbreviate that ^_^
-
[quote name=\'Gus\' post=\'128001\' date=\'Aug 19 2006, 01:37 AM\']
The opportunity to win the bonus is always given, even if the game has been decided. In the case above, Dick would likely mention that he's going to the Winner's Circle no matter what, and that he's playing the round for the bonus prize.
[/quote]
That's what I thought...just needed confirmation. Thanks a bunch.
(Cheap jokes aside.)
-
[quote name=\'Gus\' post=\'128001\' date=\'Aug 18 2006, 10:37 PM\']
The opportunity to win the bonus is always given, even if the game has been decided. In the case above, Dick would likely mention that he's going to the Winner's Circle* no matter what, and that he's playing the round for the bonus prize.
[/quote]
Can you say that with 100% certainty? Did that situation ever come up on the show? The lack of a need to play the final category happened so seldom on the show, that I question whether you can say conclusively if that was in fact how it worked.
-
[quote name=\'clemon79\' post=\'128010\' date=\'Aug 19 2006, 03:48 AM\']
[quote name=\'Gus\' post=\'128001\' date=\'Aug 18 2006, 10:37 PM\']
The opportunity to win the bonus is always given, even if the game has been decided. In the case above, Dick would likely mention that he's going to the Winner's Circle* no matter what, and that he's playing the round for the bonus prize.
[/quote]
Can you say that with 100% certainty? Did that situation ever come up on the show? The lack of a need to play the final category happened so seldom on the show, that I question whether you can say conclusively if that was in fact how it worked.
[/quote]
Oh, definitely. I can't rattle off Horanesque dates, but if the bonus card was the last to be picked, all six catergories would always be played.
-
The closest that I can come to any sort of verification of this is one ep. I have on tape...it's not exactly the same scenario, but I'm sure that the scenario presented would play out the same way.
Team A pulls the second-to-last category, which leaves the 7-11. They get some, but only take a lead of like 3 points. I remember Mr. Clark saying that the other team will play all 7 or until time ran out so that the $1,100 can be given out
-
[quote name=\'tpirfan28\' post=\'128013\' date=\'Aug 19 2006, 08:29 AM\']
Team A pulls the second-to-last category, which leaves the 7-11. They get some, but only take a lead of like 3 points. I remember Mr. Clark saying that the other team will play all 7 or until time ran out so that the $1,100 can be given out
[/quote]
Indeed...I want to say on some occasions he would tell the audience to hold their applause. If they got 7/7, the "WINNERS" graphic flashed, with a "$1,100" graphic right above that.
-
[quote name=\'fostergray82\' post=\'128016\' date=\'Aug 19 2006, 09:48 AM\']
[quote name=\'tpirfan28\' post=\'128013\' date=\'Aug 19 2006, 08:29 AM\']
Team A pulls the second-to-last category, which leaves the 7-11. They get some, but only take a lead of like 3 points. I remember Mr. Clark saying that the other team will play all 7 or until time ran out so that the $1,100 can be given out
[/quote]
Indeed...I want to say on some occasions he would tell the audience to hold their applause. If they got 7/7, the "WINNERS" graphic flashed, with a "$1,100" graphic right above that.
[/quote]
When I'm back home from college sometime...I'll try to get a clip. I do remember on that particular clip, he said "audience, please hold you applause so that they can get the full 7 and the bonus." And yes, it was $1,100 and the winner's graphic. I would assume that if the Mystery 7 was also won, that protocol would also be used, just the $1,100 was changed to whatever prize it was.
-
Do they play the bonus if a game ends after four rounds? I don't think they did, but I figured this would be the best time for me to ask and verify.
-
[quote name=\'rollercoaster87\' post=\'128023\' date=\'Aug 19 2006, 10:23 AM\']
Do they play the bonus if a game ends after four rounds? I don't think they did, but I figured this would be the best time for me to ask and verify.
[/quote]
Semantics, I know, but without the tie breaker, there are only three rounds per match. Has this ever happened? They've always played the bonus, I just can't see a reason why they wouldn't after two rounds, even if the game is decided.
-
There weren't many games that lopsided in the 25/100 era, but I think I saw a game in the New York era where the game was decided in four rounds, and the Big 7 was behind one of the two remaining categories. They let the team that had already lost choose first. They picked the Big 7 and played it out. (I don't recall whether they won it.)
-
[quote name=\'Jay Temple\' post=\'128031\' date=\'Aug 19 2006, 11:12 AM\']
There weren't many games that lopsided in the 25/100 era, but I think I saw a game in the New York era where the game was decided in four rounds, and the Big 7 was behind one of the two remaining categories. They let the team that had already lost choose first. They picked the Big 7 and played it out. (I don't recall whether they won it.)
[/quote]
That makes sense... the team behind always had choice of the fifth category.
/guess what's the number one game show was on my list of fifty
-
[quote name=\'Brandon Brooks\' post=\'128033\' date=\'Aug 19 2006, 12:37 PM\']
[quote name=\'Jay Temple\' post=\'128031\' date=\'Aug 19 2006, 11:12 AM\']
There weren't many games that lopsided in the 25/100 era, but I think I saw a game in the New York era where the game was decided in four rounds, and the Big 7 was behind one of the two remaining categories. They let the team that had already lost choose first. They picked the Big 7 and played it out. (I don't recall whether they won it.)
[/quote]
That makes sense... the team behind always had choice of the fifth category.
/guess what's the number one game show was on my list of fifty
[/quote]
...and if that was the case, and you were behind THAT much, then didn't pick the bonus, you would have incredibly bad luck.
/if I ever compile a list of 50, this one...top 3 easy
-
[quote name=\'Brandon Brooks\' post=\'128012\' date=\'Aug 19 2006, 02:50 AM\']
Oh, definitely. I can't rattle off Horanesque dates, but if the bonus card was the last to be picked, all six catergories would always be played.
[/quote]
Okay, but let's clarify this, just to be sure. I'm not talking about those situations where the player needs less-than-seven to win and they play it out to completion to see if the player can win the bonus, I'm talking about those (really REALLY rare) situations where the player needed 0 to win and the remaining category was the bonus. Is that what you're telling me you can confirm (even without Horanesque dates; your word is certainly good enough for me) happening?
-
Re: the Big 7 and the "Big 7" logo they used on Pyramid -- Ever get the feeling that Bob Stewart got the idea for the Big 7 logo while he was purchasing a Slurpee at the certain local carry-out??),
-
[quote name=\'clemon79\' post=\'128057\' date=\'Aug 19 2006, 02:09 PM\']
Okay, but let's clarify this, just to be sure. I'm not talking about those situations where the player needs less-than-seven to win and they play it out to completion to see if the player can win the bonus, I'm talking about those (really REALLY rare) situations where the player needed 0 to win and the remaining category was the bonus. Is that what you're telling me you can confirm (even without Horanesque dates; your word is certainly good enough for me) happening?
[/quote]
Well, I can say with almost certainty that I have seen an episode of $25K where there was a five category blowout and the winning team still played the sixth category because it was a bonus. I have never seen a four category blowout, though. Unfortunately, I'm not as brilliant as Zach to tell you exactly when that episode happened, but of course, few people are as brilliant as he.
-
[quote name=\'Brandon Brooks\' post=\'128079\' date=\'Aug 19 2006, 01:00 PM\']
Well, I can say with almost certainty that I have seen an episode of $25K where there was a five category blowout and the winning team still played the sixth category because it was a bonus.
[/quote]
Excellent. Good enough for me. :)
I have never seen a four category blowout, though. Unfortunately, I'm not as brilliant as Zach to tell you exactly when that episode happened, but of course, few people are as brilliant as he.
Or as banned. ;)
-
I live for little "rules moments" like the ones we're discussing, and Chris, I can say with 100% certainty that '80s Pyramid did indeed play out any bonuses even when the game was a foregone conclusion before the bonus started. It happened on several occasions that I can remember, including one where the clue giver managed to get cuckoo'd about 5 seconds in. "Well, that settles that!" or something similar was said.
Side note: those combined "$1,100 - WINNERS" and "1958 CHEVETTE - WINNERS" graphics were not around when (that version of) the show started in 1982. They had to flash each one separately for a few seconds. I would take a wild guess that Mr. Stewart found that to look a little goofy, and changed it later.
-
1958 CHEVETTE - WINNERS
I know Bob Stewart was cheap, but I didn't think he was that cheap.
-
[quote name=\'Gus' signature\' post=\'128001\' date=\'Aug 19 2006, 12:37 AM\']
The countdown to 160 continues. (Apologies to Doug.)[/quote]
For what? :)
Doug-- and the countdown to 2200 begins
-
[quote name=\'sshuffield70\' post=\'128092\' date=\'Aug 19 2006, 04:33 PM\']
1958 CHEVETTE - WINNERS
I know Bob Stewart was cheap, but I didn't think he was that cheap.
[/quote]
There's a blooper from the first season of the syndie $100K Pyramid (1985-6) in which Dick Clark mistakenly announced the Mystery 7 prize as a 1958 Chevrolet instead of a 1985 Chevrolet.
As for the two sets of graphics, I've certainly seen the "$1100 Winners" graphic, as well as the $5,000 Winners" graphic for the tiebreaker in a perfect game, but when the Mystery 7 was the last category played, I'm pretty sure that the entire run had two graphics; namely the prize won would blink for a few seconds, followed by the "Winners" graphic.
-
[quote name=\'Fedya\' post=\'128127\' date=\'Aug 19 2006, 10:40 PM\']There's a blooper from the first season of the syndie $100K Pyramid (1985-6) in which Dick Clark mistakenly announced the Mystery 7 prize as a 1958 Chevrolet instead of a 1985 Chevrolet.[/quote]
And I was referencing that deliberately, for the record.
but when the Mystery 7 was the last category played, I'm pretty sure that the entire run had two graphics; namely the prize won would blink for a few seconds, followed by the "Winners" graphic.
My memory is violently disagreeing. I, on the other hand, am relaying my memory's vehemence in a polite way. :)
-
I would have to guess (and that's all this is, mind you) that Ted is right here about the Mystery 7, simply because it didn't offer a consistent prize, whereas the 7-11 did.
-
Well, I can say with almost certainty that I have seen an episode of $25K where there was a five category blowout and the winning team still played the sixth category because it was a bonus. I have never seen a four category blowout, though.
For the record, there was at least one four-category blowout in the '80s CBS era. I remember seeing it on USA in the mid-90s, but I couldn't tell you who the celebs were or anything. The bonus had already been played in the first four categories so they didn't go on.
-
I agree with the folks who remember that "NAME OF MYSTERY 7 PRIZE" would flash for a few seconds, followed by "WINNERS," never the two together.
-
Ooh, a question for a "Pyramid" freak. Yay!
There were a few times in the L.A. run where there had been 5 categories played and even though the one team had already lost, the other team still played the final category because it was either the 7-11 or the Mystery 7.
However, there were at least two instances where the game was decided after only FOUR categories and one of the two remaining categories was the bonus card. The first one I can think of was in the summer of 1983. After four categories, Jill Whelan's team had 6 points and Philip McKeon's team had 14 points. The game was technically over, but since it was the first day of the week and both celebs were new, Dick asked if they could play the last two categories for practice, forgetting that the 7-11 was still hidden on the board. When reminded of this, Dick asked Jill's team to try to find it. They chose the wrong category, but rather than have them play out the category they chose, Dick just went straight to Philip's team, who proceeded to play the 7-11 and win the bonus.
One other time that it happened was in the fall of 1987, in the Leslie Easterbrook/Harry Waters Jr. episode that's on the trading circuit.
Brendan